top of page

Fall Themed Books | Top Ten Tuesday

Today's post is about judging a book by its cover. AKA, our favorite pastime.

I mean.. if a book is going to be sitting on my bookshelf for far longer than it takes me to read it.. it better be bloody beautiful. Plus the Bookstagram Gods demand it. So, there's that, as well.

Come on, don't deny it.. We, bookworms, are all super vain like that. Pretty book covers are the reason why we are broke and probably can't afford next month's rent. But, hey, at least our bookshelves are all on point. So, it's all good.

books with fall covers | Top Ten Tuesday

I'm linking up with Top Ten Tuesday hosted by "The Broke and the Bookish" as per usual. This week's prompt is "Books with Autumn/Fall Covers or Themes" and basically, that means I get to be judge-y AF.

Actual Conversation I've had in my head while book shopping:

Me : Oh that one looks beautiful

Inner Me : Let's read the jacket and see if the story is great

Me : Who cares???

Inner Me : Are you freaking kidding me? That is literally all that matters.

Me : The cover is stunning! Inner Me : You have 567840723 books on your TBR already???

Me : THE COVER IS STUNNING asdkldshfkd

Inner Me : Oh my god.

Me : I'm gonna buy it

Inner Me : It costs a fortune and what if it's a below-3-stars book??

Me : I'M GONNA BUY IT BITCH DON'T FIGHT ME ON THIS

Inner Me : -_-

Please tell me I'm not the only one who has mental arguments with themselves. This is normal, right? No?

Well, okay then.

And like the GENEROUS QUEEN I AM, I’ll offer a small blurb for each book.. so that when you guys find yourself falling in love with all the gorgeous covers, you can read and get to know what the actual book is about (Yes, that's still important, my child).

Let's get started, shall we?

1. The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

This book has :

  • a forest-dwelling witch

  • ​​people sacrificing babies so that the witch leaves them alone

  • the witch living with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon

  • the witch turning out to be a good witch, in a massive plot twist

  • the witch rescuing babies

  • the witch journeying to the other side of the forest to hand over the babies to families who want them

  • the witch nourishing the babies with starlight during the journey

  • the witch screwing up, one time, and feeding a baby with moonlight

  • this baby now having extra-ordinary powers

the girl who drank the moon

Everything about this book feels like Fall to me.

Witches who live in forests? Monsters and Dragons? Normal babies whose diet is starlight?? Special baby girl whose diet is moonlight?

And check out that GORGEOUS COVER OMG.. The Perfectly Tiny Dragon looks so cuteee.

CAN WE ALL JUST AGREE THAT THIS BOOK IS THE ULTIMATE FALL-THEMED READ? Good, thanks.

I haven't read this yet but bruh, it's on my list. I'm gonna get there. The TBR needs to be conquered.

floral divider

2. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Blurb:

'Frost-demons have no interest in mortal girls wed to mortal men. In the stories, they only come for the wild maiden.'

the bear and the nightingale

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.

But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods...

Firstly, look at that COVER.. HOW DOES IT MANAGE TO LOOK SO AUTUMNAL DESPITE HAVING FLOWERS AND FOLIAGE ON IT???

WHAT IS THIS WITCHCRAFT?!?!? It is such a beautiful cover and I can't even deal with how much I want it.

Also, that blurb. The story is set in Northern Russian and there's magic involved??? Like, are you trying to mess with me here??? Somebody just get me this book already.

floral divider

3. The Red-Haired Woman by Orhan Pamuk

the red-haired woman by orhan pamuk

Blurb:

On the outskirts of a town, thirty miles from Istanbul, a master well-digger and his young apprentice are hired to find water on a barren plain.

As they struggle in the summer heat and develop a filial bond neither has known before, the boy finds an irresistible diversion-The Red-Haired Woman, an alluring member of a travelling theatre company, causing a horrible accident to befall on the well digger and making the boy flee to Istanbul.

Okay. Okay. I know what you are thinking. This book is literally set in summer. And nothing about the plot seems remotely FALL themed to you.

Well, you're right. But, I chose this one because of, you guessed it, its cover. DID I NOT MENTION THAT TODAY WAS ABOUT JUDGING A BOOK BY ITS COVER?

Tell me that doesn't look Autumnal to you. Go on. I'll fight you, in case you do say it, fair warning.

floral divider

4. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Blurb:

'I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in.

the name of the wind by patrick rothfuss

I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.

My name is Kvothe. You may have heard of me'

So begins the tale of Kvothe - currently known as Kote, the unassuming inn keeper - from his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, through his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a difficult and dangerous school of magic.

In these pages you will come to know Kvothe the notorious magician, the accomplished thief, the masterful musician, the dragon-slayer, the legend-hunter, the lover, the thief and the infamous assassin.

The orange on the cover makes me think of pumpkins and the dark undertones are very Halloween-y. Even the leafy tendrils on the cover are very reminiscent of pumpkin patches.

I feel like this book is the very definition of Fall. Everything from the plot to the cover design makes me think of dark, spooky times. If you are looking for a book to put you in the mood for Halloween, 10/10 recommend picking this book up!

floral divider

5. Wild Beauty by Anna M. McLemore

Blurb:

For nearly a century, the Nomeolvides women have tended the grounds of La Pradera, the lush estate gardens that enchant guests from around the world.

They’ve also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But then, after generations of vanishings, a strange boy appears in the gardens.

The boy is a mystery to Estrella, the Nomeolvides girl who finds him, and to her family, but he’s even more a mystery to himself; he knows nothing more about who he is or where he came from than his first name.

As Estrella tries to help Fel piece together his unknown past, La Pradera leads them to secrets as dangerous as they are magical in this stunning exploration of love, loss, and family.

HOW DO YOU MANAGE TO MAKE BRIGHT FLOWERS LOOK LIKE FALL? Again, the cover is SO FREAKING AUTUMNAL . Seriously, these cover designers are killing it with Dark Floral Fall theme. Teach me your ways, human.

And the plot sounds super intriguing as well. I’ve been seeing this book everywhere on the Internet. So, of course, it’s currently on top of my TBR (along with 300 other books).

floral divider

6. The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo

Blurb:

the language of thorns by leigh bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse . . . Love speaks in flowers. Truth requires thorns.

Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid's voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a love-struck boy's bidding but only for a terrible price.

Queen Bardugo is back with a new book and I CAN’T CONTAIN MY CHILL!!!

Apart from being about magic and mythical creatures (which is just so AUTUMNAL), the book also has the most subtly Fall-vibe cover. I cannot wait to get my hands on this one!

floral divider

7. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Blurb:

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you're only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father's kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions.

the star-touched queen by roshani chokshi

Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: as Akaran's queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar's wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion, Protection, Desire.

But Akaran has its own secrets - thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger.

Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? with the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most.. including herself.

Look at the GORGEOUS COVER for this one! It has such rich, autumnal hues I can't even deal with it.

For some reason, the cover also seems to have some intense Diwali vibes. For any non-Indian readers, Diwali is a festival that we celebrate in India (duh) and it is actually right around the corner! (VERY EXCITED FOR ALL THE DELICIOUS FOOD)

floral divider

8. Wicked like a Wildfire by Lana Popovic

Blurb:

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glass work, while Malina interprets moods as music.

Wicked like a wildfire by lana popovic

But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them.

They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

Okay. OKAY. This cover is quite similar to that of “Wild Beauty” but I like this one SO MUCH MORE. I love the broody purple in the cover and I think out of all the covers in this post, this one might be my ~ FAVORITE ~

The plot is again quite interesting. It’s got magic and taboo love.. WHAT ELSE COULD YOU ASK FOR? Definitely adding this to my TBR (which, btw, is currently giving me some serious side-eye) .

floral divider

9. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Blurb:

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there's anything I've learned from him in the years since, it's that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family.

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community.

But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha--one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles... and make a powerful choice.

Talking of loving purple on book covers, THIS IS GORGEOUS OMG!!! Purple can be quite a dark, moody Fall color but this cover makes it look festive AF. But the skull helps the festive vibe of the cover not detract from the crooked Fall vibe??? I don’t know dude. This is some next-level sorcery right here.

Also, can I just say that the plot sounds VERY INTERESTING? I’ve never heard of or read anything like this ever before. So, if someone could just mail this book to me as a gift, that’d be great, thanks.

floral divider

10. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Blurb:

Conor has the same dream every night, ever since his mother first fell ill, ever since she started the treatments that don't quite seem to be working. But tonight is different.

Tonight, when he wakes, there's a visitor at his window. It’s ancient, elemental, a force of nature. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.

So, this book cover doesn’t have Autumn colors but IMHO, it is still quite a Fall-themed book.

There are spooky tree branches against a night sky illuminated by the moon (look at me getting poetic) and that just brings to mind, werewolves for some reason.

And, the title literally mentions monsters. Clearly, that should make it a Fall favorite of all of us. Autumn isn't complete without a few good scary reads, wouldn't you agree?

let's chat

SO, that’s it for my TTT this week!

Tell me which is your favorite cover of all the ones I mentioned. And also, if you’ve read any of them, how did you like it?

AND ALSO, DO YOU GUYS COVER-BUY??? OF COURSE YOU DO.. WHAT KIND OF QUESTION IS THAT, SHANU??

Don't forget to leave a link to your own TTT in the comment section, so I can come shower you with confetti.

Oh and one more thing.. I added a new tab to my website called “My Aesthetic”. Please do give it a look and see if you like something on there! And if you do, well, be sure to follow me! That way you get more of that beautiful stuff in your feed!

I post on every Tuesday and Friday. So, if you like reading my blog, please consider subscribing, either via email or Bloglovin’! All relevant information is available on the homepage of my blog.

Fun News : I did a "Would You Rather" book tag last week and it turned out to be EPIC! Check out my answers here.

Recent Posts
bottom of page