top of page

My New Year Resolutions | 2018

Happy New Year 2018, everyone!

It’s that time of the year again! The one where we make a bunch of resolutions at the start of the year and forget about them as soon as January is over.. It’s absolutely BRILLIANT! 10/10 recommended from me.

What are you resolving to accomplish this year, Shanu, you helpfully ask. And being the generous Queen that I am, I’m going to deliver. Now, I can do this the plain old way. But since I’m quite extra (and also because I really liked this prompt I came across on Pinterest), I’m going to spice things up a bit.

So, without further ado, behold my grand plans for 2018!

*Also, notice how I am using Christmassy dividers for this post, even though we are well past Christmas. Listen, I found them while crawling the deep, dark web and they were too cute to not use. So, let me have this, people.

new year resolutions 2018

1. A bad habit I’m going to break

Waking up late.

Anyone who knows me at all knows that I’m not a morning person. I can quite easily sleep in till 11 a.m. This doesn’t mean that I can’t get out of bed sooner. When I need to be up early, I very much can. It just means that when left to my own devices, I can spend the entire first half of the day sleeping.

My work timings also support this lifestyle (I don’t need to be in office until 12 noon). Of course, this means that I come home quite late but more importantly, it also leads to me waking up the next morning at 10 a.m. Which is a pattern I want to break.

So, in 2018, I want to wake up earlier. Nothing too crazy – I typically go to bed at midnight, so, I am aiming to be out of bed at 8 a.m. every morning.

2. A good habit I’m going to pick up

Eating healthy.

I’m not bad at eating healthy. But, I could definitely be better. As I just rambled, I come home quite late and mostly find that I don’t have the energy to cook dinner. I had about two weeks in December 2017, where I ordered my dinner online every day, because I was having a busy time at work.

So, just overall, I want to adopt healthier practices when it comes to food. It's easy for me to want to eat pizza every day for all three meals. Or waffles. Or get a McDonald's when I don't want to cook. What can I say, I am an avid lover of carbs.

I don't give in to the carb-heavy impulses that often (because I really don't love what it does to my skin and overall energy levels) but I'd be happier to make better food choices in 2018.

3. A new skill I’d like to learn

Calligraphy and Journaling

I have always been into both of these things. And there are so many online courses for Calligraphy and Lettering. But, I have never taken one up. So, this year, I want to invest some time in it. Also, I really enjoy Journaling but don’t find time for it any more. Something I want to do more of, as well.

4. A person I hope to be more like

My mom.

Hands down, the most beautiful person I know, inside and out. I hope I can be more like her in my outlook towards life. I have learnt so much from her. And I can’t think of anyone else that I’d rather aspire to be more like.

It’s funny because my mom and I don’t see eye to eye on a lot of things. But, the older I get, the more I realize how lucky I am to have her. She always has the best advice and when I need someone to talk to, it’s always her I go to.

5. A place I’d like to visit

Taj Mahal, Agra, India

I remember watching programs on Discovery about this monument when I was a kid. And I’ve forever been fascinated. It’s just one of those places that seem so surreal that you can’t quite believe they exist.

I have wanted to visit this beautiful marvel of a monument, for a very long time. And it’s not even a far location or a tough journey from where my family stays. I really, really wish I can make this happen in 2018.

let's chat

Okay so, first things first. Are you a morning person or a night owl? Let me know!

And do you guys set resolutions for a new year? If yes, then tell me some of yours for 2018! Do we have any in common?

Recent Posts
bottom of page