top of page

Book Review: "A Court of Mist and Fury" by Sarah J. Maas

I don't usually do book reviews. In fact, I haven't done one ever, over here on the blog. Which is a little bit surprising given how books are all I ever wanna talk about. Indeed, almost every other post that I type out these days, happens to be book tagged (Maybe because I've had a lot of time to read this month). Anyway, so back to why I don't generally do book reviews. I have thought about this before and I guess, all it comes down to, is that I feel extremely overwhelmed at the idea of trying to describe all the reasons why I liked or disliked a book. And so I haven't gotten around to doing it. Until now.

Frankly, I decided to do a book review for ACOMAF, because ever since I finished reading it, I haven't been bale to stop thinking about it. I haven't been able to stop wanting to talk about it. There are just too many words inside me and I really need to pen them down. Shout them out, let the world know what this book has done to me (and many others, I'm sure). This review is SPOILER-FREE and you can enjoy it without ruining the fun for yourself. Go on then!

acomaf cover

"A Court of Thorns and Roses" is the first book of this series. It is based loosely on the ancient fairytale of Beauty and the Beast. I picked it up upon seeing the amazing #bookstagram community gushing a lot of praise about it. In all honesty, I enjoyed reading it and found it to be an interesting take on the old fable. I'll admit it was a little slow in the beginning. But halfway through, it paced up and by the end, it had turned out to be quite a cliff-hanger. I couldn't wait to dive into the second book of the series - ACOMAF.

I knew, from reading other blogs, that this one was supposed to far surpass the first book. In every sense of the word. Truth be told, I hurried through ACOTAR, so I could get to this one that much faster. And even though I knew that ACOMAF was supposed to be a wonderful adventure, I was in no way prepared for all the wonders.

ACOMAF starts off after three months have passed since the end scene of ACOTAR (trying not to give away potential spoilers). The description of this book on Goodreads is as follows:

"Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two."

A Court of Mist and Fury... Rhysand... A Court of Dreams… Velaris... Prythian... Rhysand.. What I wouldn't give to get my hands on the third book right this second… I literally feel like I'll go out of my mind if I don't have one more page, one more chapter, one more book of this story to read. Right now. ACOMAF was such a satisfying read, you guys. I can't get over the brilliant storyline, how everything seemed to connect in the end so well , and my gosh, the twist that the book ended with. Can the third book be here already?!?

I'm in the worst kind of book slump, fellow readers. I have been inflicted with the cruel condition of book hangovers before. But this one is so much worse. I can't find it in me to shake off that need, that longing to be in Velaris again. To be reading about the characters' lives, to be eavesdropping on their many banters, to just be in that world again. I want to sink into the magical pages and become a part of the Night Court. I want to live, breathe, be in the mythical realm that the author has spun using merely 24 letters of the alphabet.

My heart cannot accept the concept of waiting, that there are so many months to go before Sarah J. Maas takes mercy on her readers and releases the sequel to ACOMAF. Book series are a lot more unforgiving in this sense - you have to wait until the next one comes along. I don't recall feeling like this, even when I would have to wait for the next Harry Potter book. Or maybe I did feel all of it but it was a kinder time as kids are easily distracted.

ACOMAF is worth it though. Worth every agonizing second of the most harrowing hangover ever. The world of Rhysand is worth it. Because you'll still be feeling ALL THE FEELS long after you have turned the final page. You'll remember the experience of thumbing through it, devouring the words as fast as you can, long after you have put it down. Please please please let the third book be here soon. I'm dying to know what happens next.

And for all this and more, go pick yourself a copy and gobble it up!

Recent Posts
bottom of page