top of page

My Top 5 Favorite / Auto-Buy Authors

Today's post is brought to you by a pretentious fraud (AKA, me).

"But, why, Shanu?", you ask, gasping in utter horror, refusing to believe that I just called myself that.

It is true though, dear readers and you'd do best to accept it. I like to pretend that I have this blogging thing down to a pat. I like to pretend that I know all the ropes by now and have gotten brilliant at it.

Obviously, I have not.

AND THAT's OKAY!!! Make your peace with it, my humans. I know NOTHING about what I'm doing.

For starters, I disappear regularly from the internet, leaving everything hanging, taking one hiatus after another - as you guys are left wondering, in vain, how long this one will last.

I'm quite tempted to tell you guys all about what caused me to neglect my own blog ~ my child, if you will ~ this time around. But, honestly, that would legit make this post 10,000 words long and I might end up crying by the end of it. So, well, let's just say that other monstrous things took over.

But, now that I'm back, let's talk about some bookish things to replenish my parched soul.

As any sane bookworm will attest, there is a very specific list of authors that make it to our top favorites. The authors that we pledge our blood and bones to. The ones that hold the power to shower us with magical fairy-dust and to just as easily shatter our very spirits with their words.

I'm no exception to this phenomenon. So, today I'm sharing my own list of auto-buy authors with you. I'll buy any book these beautiful humans come out with. Let's go then, shall we?

my favorite authors

1. Khaled Hosseini

Anybody who has known me for a hot second will know about my undying love for all things Hosseini.

For those of you who are uninitiated, Khaled Hosseini is an Afghan-born American novelist and physician, who writes beautiful and heart-breaking stories of Afghan people. I have read and reread all of his books countless times.

Which is a miracle, because they make me cry my eyes out every time, and like, why do I even put myself through the agony?? You are such a sucker for pain, Shanu, gosh darn it. Go read something light, for once.

If you're looking to get started with this author, I recommend "A Thousand Splendid Suns" - his second novel. His first - "The Kite Runner" - was a major hit and took the world by storm, but, trust me, his second is on another level.

And, to be fair, you would want to start with the absolute best, right? I mean, why would you not want to get hit by a truckload of emotions and spend all your remaining days bawling on the floor?? Clearly, you know the relaxation books can bring.

boho watercolor feather garland

2. Jhumpa Lahiri

Oh, the beauty that is Jhumpa's books!

If you were to tell me to choose between Hosseini and Lahiri, I'd proclaim you to be Satan himself, for subjecting me to this cruelty. I am so utterly in love with Jhumpa's writing, I have no words for it.

She was born in London to Indian parents and so, her books often tell the story of people divided between two worlds, but not quite belonging to either. Add to this, a major familial undercurrent to the whole plot and a smattering of Bengali influences, and you have given me a much-cherished novel.

I adore her writing style as well. Something about it is very comforting to me. It causes me to feel nostalgia for the most impossible of things. My favorite book by her is, not surprisingly, "The Namesake" - her debut novel. I'm in love with her words.

boho watercolor feather garland

3. Maggie Stiefvater

Do you guys like magic? And dead kings? And psychics and ghosts? And teenage boys and a fierce girl who befriends said teenage boys? And a magical forest that is sentient and speaks Latin? And overall spooky vibes to the entire story?

Well, then, boy, oh boy, are you in for a treat. I present to you "The Raven Cycle" by this awesome, genius writer.

Unless, you already know about it (Because let's face it, Shanu, every bookworm has heard of Richard Gansey, the third).

Maggie Stiefvater is another one of those authors whose books I'll buy without even bothering to know what it's about. Because if she wrote it, it's gonna be about everything I have ever wanted in a book.

I have only read "The Raven Cycle" series by this author (which, I know, is criminal, because, like she is my favorite author??? and what am I even doing with my life). But, I'm hoping to start with her other books soon. Here is a description I found for this series on Pinterest.

The Raven Cycle description

I don't know how to describe her writing other than saying that she writes quite directly yet it conveys a lot. It can actually also be rather spooky even though she's probably not talking about anything truly terrifying. I'm sure I'm not making enough sense at this point... so, let's just say, that I have been known to gobble up her books the same way I gobble up my mom's dum aloo punjabi. (So so yum, ma!)

boho watercolor feather garland

4. Jennifer Niven

Otherwise, known as, queen of YA fiction.

This is not the first time I'm talking about Jennifer on this blog. My love for "All the Bright Places" is no secret after all (review : here).

She writes so authentically about such sensitive issues and tells some truly beautiful stories. Go check out her books, if you haven't already. Highly recommended from this blogger!

boho watercolor feather garland

5. Donna Tartt

I was first introduced to this amazing writer in second year of my college. I had no idea on what to expect from "The Goldfinch". But it turned out to be a unique read, in the sense that it widened my perspective a lot.

A beautiful, intriguing story told in a way that made me wish I could write that well, "The Goldfinch" won my heart slowly, yet, steadily. I have reread that book a couple of times since the first and enjoy it just as much, if not more.

"The Secret History" is another brilliant read and the characters are extremely well-written. If you're a fan of "The Raven Cycle", you're likely to enjoy this one. so, pick it up, if you haven't already!

let's chat

So those were my top five auto-buy authors! Props to you if you made it to the end of this post! *virtual hugs*

Who are some of your favorites? Do we have some in common? Tell me all about it!​

Recent Posts
bottom of page